breaking news New


Photo Crdeit: Rob Tringali/New York Red Bulls
Henry scores twice while MLS Golden Boot leader Wright-Phillips reaches 20-goal mark

HARRISON, NJ (August 23, 2014) – Bradley Wright-Phillips and Thierry Henry scored two goals each on Saturday night as the New York Red Bulls (7-7-10, 31 pts.) defeated the Montreal Impact (4-15-5, 17 pts.) 4-2 at Red Bull Arena. Wright-Phillips broke the New York single-season scoring record with his 20th goal of 2014 in the 91st minute.

Wright-Phillips passed Juan Pablo Angel’s 19-goal record set in 2007 with his two-goal performance on Saturday. The Englishman is now seven goals away from tying the MLS single-season scoring record with 10 regular season games remaining.

The Red Bulls return to action on Tuesday when they open their group stage play in the CONCACAF Champions League against C.D. FAS of the Salvadorian Premier Division (TV: Fox Sports 2, Univision Deportes). Along with FAS, the Red Bulls were drawn into Group 3 with the Impact. Tickets for Tuesday’s CCL match can be purchased by calling 1.877.727.6223 or logging onto

Tickets are on sale now for the Red Bulls’ next MLS regular-season home game against Sporting Kansas City on September 6 by calling 1.877.727.6223 or logging onto New York next faces D.C. United in MLS play on Sunday, October 31 at RFK Stadium at 2:30 PM (TV: NBC Sports Network).

Wright-Phillips had a great chance early for the Red Bulls from inside Montreal’s six-yard-box. Lloyd Sam beat his defender down the right flank and played a ball across the box to an open Wright-Phillips, but the forward could not convert. Tim Cahill tried to put in the rebound, but Montreal captain Matteo Ferrari denied the midfielder’s attempt with a sprawling block.

Despite New York carrying the play for much of the first half, Montreal was able to strike first as Dilly Duka scored his first goal of the season. Duka ran onto a Calum Mallace ball down the left flank and beat Luis Robles with a left-footed shot to the near post to give the Impact a 1-0 lead at the break.

Henry leveled the score for the Red Bulls in the 53rd minute with a diving header from inside Montreal’s 18-yard-box. Eric Alexander delivered the service from the left flank, cutting back onto his right foot and finding Henry at the penalty spot. The goal was Henry’s sixth of the season.

New York’s captain found the back of the net again in the second half, putting the Red Bulls up 2-1 in the 67th minute. Dax McCarty found Henry just inside Montreal’s 18-yard-box and the Frenchman curled a right-footed shot past Evan Bush, off the far post and in.

Robles made a key stop on Montreal’s Marco Di Vaio later in the half, as the forward ran in behind the back line and put a left-footed shot on frame that Robles pushed out over the end line to keep his team ahead.

Wright-Phillips joined the score sheet in the 74th minute, scoring his league-leading 19th goal of the season. Henry fed the forward who finished calmly with his right foot. With the goal, Wright-Phillips tied the all-time, single-regular season scoring record for New York. Juan Pablo Angel scored 19 goals as well in 2007.

Montreal would not go down with a fight as Andres Romero pulled the Impact to within one goal in the 79th minute. Romero cut onto his left foot at the top of the 18-yard-box and curled a left-footed shot past Robles to cut New York’s lead to 3-2.

Wright-Phillips would seal the three points in style for New York, breaking the New York single-season scoring record with his league-leading 20th goal of the season in the 91st minute, giving New York the 4-2 win after putting home a Peguy Luyindula pass.

New York Red Bulls 4, Montreal Impact 2
August 23, 2014
MLS Regular Season
Red Bull Arena, Harrison, NJ

Scoring Summary:
MTL: Dilly Duka 1 (Callum Mallace 2) 37’
NY: Thierry Henry 6 (Eric Alexander 8) 53’
NY: Thierry Henry 7 (Dax McCarty 2) 67’
NY: Bradley Wright-Phillips 19 (Thierry Henry 11) 74’
MTL: Andres Romero 6 (Wandrille Lefevre 1) 79’
NY: Bradley Wright-Phillips 20 (Peguy Luyindula 1) 91+

Disciplinary Summary:

New York Red Bulls (7-7-10, 31 pts.): Luis Robles, Chris Duvall, Ibrahim Sekagya, Jamison Olave, Roy Miller, Lloyd Sam, Dax McCarty, Tim Cahill (Peguy Luyindula 68’), Eric Alexander (Ambroise Oyongo 60’), Thierry Henry (Saer Sene 83’), Bradley Wright-Phillips

Substitutes not used: Ryan Meara, Eric Stevenson, Damien Perrinelle, Richard Eckersley

Montreal Impact (4-15-5, 17 pts.): Evan Bush, Matteo Ferrari, Hassoun Camara, Krzystof Krol (Anthony Jackson Hamel 81’), Wandrille Lefevre, Ignacio Piatti (Maxim Tissot 69’), Calum Mallace, Felipe Martins, Dilly Duka, Andres Romero, Jack McInerney (Marco Di Vaio 62’)

Substitutes not used: Troy Perkins, Issey Nakajima-Farran, Patrice Bernier, Karl Ouimette

Referee: Sorin Stoica
Referee’s Assistants: Craig Lowry, Oscar Mitchell-Carvalho
4th Referee: Robert Sibiga
Attendance: 17,891




Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

%d bloggers like this: